Lindt review

I usually never have issues with many cafes unless they ruin the coffee but even then, I’m quick to forgive and will return.

However, tonight was a different experience when I went with my friends to Lindt Café at Cockle Bay Wharf, Darling Harbour where we received terrible service.

First off, the Asian man who made our orders would not allow me to collect them until I had physically shown him the receipt. Fair enough, I thought.

Just as we began to enjoy our hot chocolates, the same guy comes over and booted us out. His reason? We were not allowed to drink inside the café because we had purchased TAKE AWAY drinks.

I don’t really see the justification. Okay, it was a take away drink so I should be taking it away but I have never known a café to kick a customer outdoors because they decided to purchase a take away drink?

I will say that I did enjoy the hot chocolate, and in case you’re wondering, their take away hot chocolates are $4.50 for a small.

I guess this is what happens when you’re a big company in a nice area. You can overcharge and people will still come and buy your products. I won’t totally dismiss Lindt, but let’s say I’m not a fan of the take away rule. (Can’t a customer change their mind?) Overcharging, I can live with.

Update: As you can see in the comments section, Lindt has graciously responded to my post. To Lindt. thank you. I appreciate and respect that someone takes the time to see what customers think of their products (good and bad). I reflect on what I wrote and believe it was harsh although it was how I felt at the time. Also a slight correction, their small hot chocolates are $4.50 for a takeaway.

Advertisements

About Brendan
Journalist

3 Responses to Lindt review

  1. Lindt Chocolat Cafe Team says:

    Hi Brendan,

    Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience at our Lindt Chocolat Café, Cocke Bay Wharf. Feedback such as yours allows us to improve on those areas that concern our customers most. We can only apologise that you did not have an enjoyable experience visiting our store and wanted to provide a response that hopefully clarifies the situation.

    As your blog states, one of our staff asked if you could move from our dine-in section of the café, as you were consuming takeaway items. Whilst we understand your irritation, we hope that you can understand also, that for those Lindt patrons who wish to dine-in and who are paying dine-in prices, it is just as irritating for them to ask why patrons are allowed to sit in the same area and pay a lesser price for their items. We have certainly addressed this issue with our store and whilst we cannot comment on the exact details of the conversation and delivery of the message to you and your friends, we can only apologise that this situation was not handled better and that an alternative seating arrangement amongst our outside seating was not offered instead.

    Just to clarify also, our takeaway hot chocolate prices are $4.50 (small) and $5.50 (large) and the $6.50 price you refer to is for a dine-in hot chocolate which offers customers a very generous serving equating to 2 cups. If for any reason you have been charged incorrectly, please send us the receipt and we will rectify this for you.

    We appreciate your positive feedback of our hot chocolates and do hope that we can welcome you and your guests back to any of our stores soon.

    Kind Regards,

    The Lindt Chocolat Cafe Team

  2. Lindt Chocolat Cafe Team says:

    Hi Brendan,

    Thank you for your feedback regarding your experience at our Lindt Chocolat Café, Cockle Bay Wharf. Feedback such as yours allows us to improve on those areas that concern our customers most. We can only apologise that you did not have an enjoyable experience visiting our store and wanted to provide a response that hopefully clarifies the situation.

    As your blog states, one of our staff asked if you could move from our dine-in section of the café, as you were consuming takeaway items. Whilst we understand your irritation, we hope that you can understand also, that for those Lindt patrons who wish to dine-in and who are paying dine-in prices, it is just as irritating for them to ask why patrons are allowed to sit in the same area and pay a lesser price for their items. We have certainly addressed this issue with our store and whilst we cannot comment on the exact details of the conversation and delivery of the message to you and your friends, we can only apologise that this situation was not handled better and that an alternative seating arrangement amongst our outside seating was not offered instead.

    Just to clarify also, our takeaway hot chocolate prices are $4.50 (small) and $5.50 (large) and the $6.50 price you refer to is for a dine-in hot chocolate which offers customers a very generous serving equating to 2 cups. If for any reason you have been charged incorrectly, please send us the receipt and we will rectify this for you.

    We appreciate your positive feedback of our hot chocolates and do hope that we can welcome you and your guests back to any of our stores soon.

    Kind Regards,

    The Lindt Chocolat Cafe Team

  3. justinmtam says:

    It’s good to know that we can still rely on the ever-widening gap between socio-economic…uh, I mean, rich, over-privileged white people vs. everyone else.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: